Cookbook Cook Eat Slovenia receives two awards at the Gourmand World Cookbook Awards 2020


Cook Eat Slovenia has won two awards at one of the world’s most prestigious cookbook competitions known as the “Oscars” of gastronomic literature.

This book on traditional Slovenian recipes was written by Špela Vodovc and published in English. The selection of recipes presented in the book has been used in her family for many generations and honors her family heritage and traditional Slovenian cuisine. Her dream was to help the world discover Slovenian foods. The dream of sharing these recipes with the world and allowing people to explore Slovenian culture through food was the driving force behind the project.

The book was published at the end of 2019, following a successful campaign on Kickstarter. The author then entered the world’s biggest cookbook event, the Gourmand World Cookbook Awards, and made the finals in three categories: best cookbook in translation, best self-published cookbook and best cookbook focused on food tourism (countries & regions), which made it the winner for Slovenia in all three categories.

The award announcement ceremony was meant to take place in early June in Paris at the world cookbook fair but was rescheduled due to current circumstances. For the first time since 1995, when the culinary Oscars first took place, the organizers announced the winners prior to the main ceremony. Out of books from 225 countries and regions, Špela Vodovc’s debut, titled Cook Eat Slovenia, ranked among the top three in the world, with 2nd place in the category of “food tourism (countries & regions)” and 3rd place in the category of “self-published.”

The book will lead to wider recognition of traditional Slovenian dishes around the world and entice travelers to visit Slovenia.

Author: Špela Vodovc

Cooking and styling: Branka Vodovc and Špela Vodovc

Food photography: Mateja Jordović Potočnik

Design: Gregor Žakelj

Translation: Urška Charney

Proofreading: Noah Charney

Official results: Gormand World Cookbook Awards 2020